1198438-Clipart-Of-A-Black-And-White-Vintage-Farmer-Slaughtering-A-Turkey-Bird-Royalty-Free-Vector-Illustration

This year I get the chance to do something I’ve wanted to do for a long, long time and that is to participate in the slaughter of my own dinner.

This years turkey comes from Wagon Wheel Ranch. They are farmers whose mission is to raise free range animals who have been fed food “that they would eat.”

Without getting too much into why I think that it’s important as meat eaters to see that the food we enjoy wasn’t born in the plastic wrap of convenience just to fill our bellies but rather, is a living being and that death and the gore that possibly goes with it has happened to every animal we’ve eaten. Basically, it’s a matter of thanks and respect.

So, on the day before Thanksgiving I am heading up to this farm with hatchet in hand and hope to bring home a wonderful bird that I will silently give my respect and thanks to as we gather to give thanks in general.

