Next year will be the 30th anniversary of my move from Cleveland to DC and I thought I’d write a little of why it’s so awesome living here.

DC is a great walking city and because it’s Federal almost all of the museums are free. Embassies bring with them a diverse population which manifests in restaurants, arts festivals and events. The Kennedy Center is world class and its also the home of the 930 club as well as many more music venues. Many bands that don’t pass though my old hometown routinely come here.

Cities like Baltimore, Philadelphia and New York are all a days drive away. We’ve actually driven the 3 1/2 hours to New York to see a play and driven back that night.

The Monuments are still a source of wonder and inspiration. Sure, we’re the centerpiece of political logjams but that’s just the clowns who pretend to serve us. As long as they don’t get my table in a restaurant I say whatever to that. There are things we can control and things we need to let go of.

Every city has its issues but the plusses of DC greatly outweigh the negatives and we don’t live in DC proper anyway so our votes actually count and we don’t have to deal with the revolving door issues of DC government.

All in all I say YAY DC.

