Roasted Bone Marrow (a.k.a. God’s butter)

I wouldn’t call myself a foodie. In fact, I kinda don’t like the term but it’s pretty commonplace now so I use it when needed.

What I would say is that I am someone who loves to make and eat good food. I have no problems dropping down a few hundred dollars if the reputation of the chef intrigues me or it is suggested to me by someone whose opinion I trust.

Recently, Kelly and I were in Las Vegas where she was attending a conference related to her work so we took advantage of two places the city offers.

Bouchon, is a Thomas Keller restaurant and suggested by our friend Brent and it was amazing. The marrow at the top of the page came from there.

L’Atelier de Joel Robuchon was very good but I personally wasn’t a huge fan of the “casual dining” aspect of it.

Kelly surprised me one year for my birthday and took me here. It is elegant dining at its best. Multiple courses later and we were in and out after four hours. It deserves the reputation it has.

Lola is Michael Symon’s signature restaurant and I’m not gonna gush about it just because we’re both Cleveland boys. I have been there a few times and it is always a damn fine meal.

We became fans of Chef Geoffrey Zacharian through Chopped and now Iron Chef and were really excited to try his food but we both came away a little underwhelmed. The National is his bistro(ish) restaurant so next time we go to New York we’re going to try his signature place The Lambs club.

There are lots of great reasons to live in D.C. and one of them is Chef Jose Andres. He owns a few places here and around the world but my two favorites are Jaleo and their tapas and Oyamel and their modern Mexican food (plus they have serious Tequila flights).

Another great D.C. establishment is owned by the legendary Michel Richard. Kelly and I had a decadent lunch there one day while playing hooky from work.

No trip to NYC is complete unless we’ve had (at minimum) a martini at the Modern, a Michelin star restaurant inside the Museum of Modern Art. Usually, we’ll see some art and start with a martini before diving into their impressive menu.

These are my highlights from the “fine dining” category. Perhaps a tour of mid-level places will come your way in the near future.

