Image

Anselm Kiefer
German, born 1945
Zim Zum, 1990
acrylic, emulsion, crayon, shellac, ashes, and canvas on lead

I’ve been to many a museum in my time and even worked in a couple. Presently I am the Head of Web and Digital Technology for the National Museum of African Art and for three years was Webmaster for the Smithsonian’s American Art Museum.

Without a doubt this work by Anselm Kiefer is the one I keep coming back to again and again. For years it was installed in the contemporary section at the National Gallery of Art here in Washington, D.C. but they deinstalled it a year back. It’s a huge piece and must weigh a ton (or so). I have a sneaky suspicion that it wasn’t actually removed but covered by a temporary wall.

Not going to get into what it “means” to me but I will say that back when it was on view I could sit for hours and stare at it (and I did).

There are many artists and works that I adore and perhaps that will be the subject of a future post. Guess we’ll see.

